Travelers’ 15 Best Dashain Attractions

During your Kathmandu Tour, explore how Dashain significantly resides into the social, cultural and religious psyche of Nepalese people. Dashain is the longest and the most auspicious festival in the Nepalese annual calendar, celebrated by Nepalese of all caste and creed throughout the country. While enjoying Nepal Holiday Tour, capture the sights and merriments of Nepalese people and see how they indulge into the biggest festival of the year. The festival, a unique ancient tradition, invokes goddess Durga through animal sacrifice. The travelers’ 15 best Dashain attractions are listed here.

Best Dashain Attraction


  1. Dashain commemorates a great victory of the gods over the wicked demons. One of the victory stories told is the Ramayan, where the lord Ram after a big struggle slaughtered Ravana, the evil king of demons. It is said that lord Ram was successful in the battle only when goddess Durga was evoked. The main celebration glorifies the triumph of good over evil and is symbolized by goddess Durga slaying the terrible demon Mahisasur, who terrorized the earth in the guise of a brutal water buffalo.
  2. Throughout the country the goddess Durga in all her manifestations are worshiped with innumerable Pujas, abundant offerings and thousands of animal sacrifices for the ritual holy bathing, thus drenching the goddess for days in blood.
  3. The first nine days signify the nine days of ferrous battle between goddess Durga and the demon Mahisasur. The tenth day is the day when Mahisasur was slain and the last five days symbolize the celebration of the victory with the blessing of the goddess.
  4. In preparation for Dashain every home is cleansed and beautifully decorated, painted as an invitation to the mother goddess, so that she may visit and bless the house with good fortune.
  5. During this time the reunion of distant and nearby relatives occurs in every household. The market is filled with shoppers seeking new clothing, gifts, luxuries and enormous supplies of temple offering for the gods, as well as foodstuffs for the family feasting.
  6. Thousands of sheep, goats, ducks, chicken and water buffalo are prepared for the great slaughter.
  7. All types of organizations are closed for ten to fifteen days. From the poor to the rich, all enjoy the festive mood. Anywhere you go the aroma of ‘Vijaya Dashami’ is found.
  8. The first nine days of Dashain are called Nawaratri when tantric rites are conducted. In Nepal the life force is embodied in the divine energy and power of the female, depicted as goddess Durga in her many forms. During these nine days people pay their homage to the goddess.
  9. The first day of Dashain is called Ghatasthapana, which literally means pot establishing. On this day the kalash, (holy water vessel) symbolizing goddess Durga is placed in the prayer room. The kalash is filled with holy water and covered with cow dung on to which seeds are sown. The Ghatasthapana ritual is performed at a certain auspicious moment determined by the astrologers.
  10. The room where the kalash is established is called ‘Dashain Ghar’. A priest or a household man worships the kalash everyday once in the morning and then in the evening. The kalash and the sand are sprinkled with holy water every day and it is shielded from direct sunlight.
  11. As days passes by regular rituals are observed till the seventh day. The seventh day is called ‘Fulpati’. In Fulpati, the royal Kalash filled with holy water, banana stalks, Jamara and sugar cane tied with red cloth is carried by Brahmans on a decorated palanquin under a gold tipped and embroidered umbrella. The government officials also join the Fulpati parade.
  12. The eighth day is called the Maha Asthami. The fervor of worship and sacrifice to Durga and Kali increases. Sacrifices are held in almost every house throughout the day. The night of the eighth day is called ‘Kal Ratri’, the dark night. Hundreds of goats, sheep and buffaloes are sacrificed at the mother goddess temples. The sacrifice continues till dawn.
  13. The ninth day is called Nawami. Temples of mother goddess are filled with people from dawn till dusk. Animals mostly black buffaloes are slaughtered to honor Durga-the goddess of victory and might, to seek her blessing. When the function ends the courtyard is filled ankle deep with blood.
  14. The tenth day is the Dashami. On this day people take Tika and Jamara from their elders and receive blessing. The importance of Dasain also lies in the fact that on this day family members from far off and distant relatives come for a visit as well as to receive Tika from the head of the family. This function continues for four days. After four days of rushing around, Dashain ends on the full moon day, the fifteenth day. The full moon day is also called ‘Kojagrata’ meaning ‘who is awake’.
  15. Apart from the religious practices, Dashain is also marked by merrymaking, gambling and excessive consumption of food and liquor.

Leave a Reply

Planning a Trip?

We have a pool of travel experts working in this industry for more than a decade. Consult to get started.

Book a Call Back