1.820.3345.33
  • Tanzania

Kilimanjaro Climbing Tours via Northern Circuit  - 10 Days

Feefo logo
US $3,899

US $2,729

US $273 per day
Save To Wish List

Adding item to wishlist requires an account

Traverse along the newest official Mt. Kilimanjaro Northern Circuit Route to summit the Uhuru Peak on a more remote trail

The Kilimanjaro Northern Circuit route is one of the best routes and also the newest official route to ascend Mt. Kilimanjaro. This special route is also the least used and the longest route perfect for those seeking remote and long Mt Kilimanjaro hiking. Trekking through this trail guarantees excellent acclimatization changeover and exceptional views from the northern slope of the mountain. The Kilimanjaro Northern Circuit itinerary follows the Lemosho route for the first few days, then ascending the Shira Ridge to cross the high Shira Plateau. Trekkers will leave the Lemosho route to turn northwards and follow the main circuit when approaching near the Lava Tower. Circling clockwise from Moir Hut to Buffalo Camp, trekkers will pass through School Hut before finally summiting from the east. The descent is made via the Mweka route, where it is likely for trekkers to encounter other trekkers from the Lemosho, Shira, Umbwe, Machame or the Marangu routes.

overlay
  • Climb the highest peak in Africa along the newest official route allowing almost 360 degree views of the diverse region
  • It is the longest route to the top thus providing ample acclimatization time to trekkers
  • The northern circuit is more remote and so has the benefits of offering less traffic and more untouched surroundings
  • Trekkers don’t have to climb the Great Barranco Wall on this route
  • The route passes close through the Kenyan border with amazing views of the Tsavo Valley and Ambroselli Valley

Overview

Arrival City
Arrival City
Moshi, Tanzania
Departure City
Departure City
Moshi, Tanzania
Lodging Level
Lodging Level

Hotel (Aishi Machame Hotel)
Meals
Meals
10 breakfast, 8 lunch, 8 dinner
Trip Grade
Trip Grade
Demanding
Max Altitude
Maximum Altitude
5,895m/19,341ft
Activity
Activity
Trekking and Hiking
Styles
Styles
Active Adventures

Outline Itinerary

Itinerary Maximum Altitude Walking/Hiking
Day 01 Arrival in Kilimanjaro; drive to Moshi 950m/3,117ft
Day 02 High-Altitude Transfer &Trekking to Shira 1 Camp 3,505m/11,500ft 2 hrs
Day 03 Trekking from Shira 1 Camp to Shira 2 Camp 3,900m/12,796ft 3-4 hrs
Day 04 Trekking from Shira 2 Camp via Lava Tower to Moir Hut 4,630m/15,191ft 6-8 hrs
Day 05 Trekking from Moir Hut to Buffalo Camp 4,020m/13,190ft 5-7 hrs
Day 06 Trekking from Buffalo Camp to Rongai Third Cave Camp 3,870m/12,697ft 4-6 hrs
Day 07 Trekking from Rongai Third Cave Camp to School Hut 4,750m/15,585ft 4-5 hrs
Day 08 Trekking to Uhuru Peak and Descent to Millennium Camp 5,895m/19,341ft 12-15 hrs
Day 09 Descent from Millenium Camp to Mweka Gate 1,640m/5,381ft 4-5 hrs
Day 10 Final Departure -
Not satisfied with this itinerary?

Are you interested in planning a Custom Trip now? It takes only 2 minutes!

Included

  • Asset 147
    Accommodation in Standard Hotels on Twin Sharing Basis
  • Asset 58
    Equipment
  • Local Guide & Support Staffs
  • Asset 42
    All Private Ground Transportation Including Airport Transfers
  • Meals in the Mountain
  • Asset 67
    Small-Group Adventure
  • Guaranteed Departures
  • Asset 63
    Lifetime Deposit
  • No Booking Fee

For Your Information, International flights aren’t included.  Rooms are usually shared by two people unless you request a private room. Also, you can upgrade to better hotels in the mountain and even in the cities. For your customized services, please specify during the booking process or contact our Destination & Products Specialist.

Meals

The Kilimanjaro Climb is totally a tent and camp trek. We sleep in camps, cook and eat at camps. Our well trained and experienced mountain trekking cooks and the team prepare delicious & hygienic breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Most meals are European and Indian curry style. We serve hot meals for breakfast and dinner but sometimes packed lunch that includes sandwich, egg, chicken, nuts, fruit, cake, juice, hot tea, etc. will be provided. There will also be a welcome dinner with authentic Tanzanian cuisine and a continental farewell dinner after the trip to all our guests.

Accommodation

Kilimanjaro climb is a camping-style climb where you cannot expect a hotel or guesthouse unlike expecting warm lodges during the trek to Everest Base Camp Trek in the Himalayas. Our camping crew will carry all the logistics that we need on the mountain for sleeping. Usually, we have a tent sharing basis for two people which is comfortable and enough space to keep your stuff inside the tent. If you want a single tent, it is possible for you to get, but will be charged a single supplement for USD 499 that includes two nights in Moshi hotel.

DATES & PRICES

We guarantee departure on all of our published dates! However, if they don't match your travel plans, we will gladly help you set your own date! Whether you're looking for private trips as a solo traveler, a couple, a family, or a group; you can plan your tailor-made trips now! Please contact us for price details and any other queries.

Dates
Arrival - Departure
Availability
Spaces
Price
Per Person (Twin share basis)
December 2022
Friday 09 Dec, 2022
Sunday 18 Dec, 2022
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 16 Dec, 2022
Sunday 25 Dec, 2022
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 23 Dec, 2022
Sunday 01 Jan, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 30 Dec, 2022
Sunday 08 Jan, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
January 2023
Friday 06 Jan, 2023
Sunday 15 Jan, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 13 Jan, 2023
Sunday 22 Jan, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 20 Jan, 2023
Sunday 29 Jan, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 27 Jan, 2023
Sunday 05 Feb, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
February 2023
Friday 03 Feb, 2023
Sunday 12 Feb, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 10 Feb, 2023
Sunday 19 Feb, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 17 Feb, 2023
Sunday 26 Feb, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 24 Feb, 2023
Sunday 05 Mar, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
March 2023
Friday 03 Mar, 2023
Sunday 12 Mar, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 10 Mar, 2023
Sunday 19 Mar, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 17 Mar, 2023
Sunday 26 Mar, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 24 Mar, 2023
Sunday 02 Apr, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 31 Mar, 2023
Sunday 09 Apr, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
May 2023
Friday 05 May, 2023
Sunday 14 May, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 12 May, 2023
Sunday 21 May, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 19 May, 2023
Sunday 28 May, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 26 May, 2023
Sunday 04 Jun, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
July 2023
Friday 07 Jul, 2023
Sunday 16 Jul, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 14 Jul, 2023
Sunday 23 Jul, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 21 Jul, 2023
Sunday 30 Jul, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 28 Jul, 2023
Sunday 06 Aug, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
August 2023
Friday 04 Aug, 2023
Sunday 13 Aug, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 11 Aug, 2023
Sunday 20 Aug, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 18 Aug, 2023
Sunday 27 Aug, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 25 Aug, 2023
Sunday 03 Sep, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
September 2023
Friday 01 Sep, 2023
Sunday 10 Sep, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 08 Sep, 2023
Sunday 17 Sep, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 15 Sep, 2023
Sunday 24 Sep, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 22 Sep, 2023
Sunday 01 Oct, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 29 Sep, 2023
Sunday 08 Oct, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
October 2023
Friday 06 Oct, 2023
Sunday 15 Oct, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 13 Oct, 2023
Sunday 22 Oct, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 20 Oct, 2023
Sunday 29 Oct, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 27 Oct, 2023
Sunday 05 Nov, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
December 2023
Friday 01 Dec, 2023
Sunday 10 Dec, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 08 Dec, 2023
Sunday 17 Dec, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 15 Dec, 2023
Sunday 24 Dec, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 22 Dec, 2023
Sunday 31 Dec, 2023
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.
Friday 29 Dec, 2023
Sunday 07 Jan, 2024
12 spaces left
US $3,899.00
US $3,899.00
Loading...
12 Seats Left
* Please select all required fields to proceed to the next step.

Proceed Booking

Route Map

FAQs

Based on the research published by the Climb Kilimanjaro Guide, the average summit success rate across all the routes is 65%. The Machame route is considered to be the easiest one amongst all different routes to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro. While all different routes on Kilimanjaro climb have their own difficulties and own experiences, Mt. Kilimanjaro is seriously a high-altitude mountain. Even though the normal routes of Kilimanjaro climb are not technically difficult, the altitude has hit hard and taken its toll on climbers annually thereby bringing the success rate down to 65%. Different operators have different success rates based on numerous factors and Himalayan Glacier has an impressive success rate of over 85% on its Kilimanjaro trips.

Climbing a mountain 5,895 m (19,341 ft.) high is definitely a dangerous thing to do. An estimated 50,000 people climb Kilimanjaro every year from which around 1,000 people are evacuated from the mountain and approximately 10 fatalities are reported. It means that the chance of death on the mountain is only 0.0002% which is practically zero. In other words, there is just one death per 5,000 climbers and the main cause of death is altitude sickness.

There are forested areas on the Kilimanjaro trail and obviously snakes are found in the cloud forests. Some of the species found on the lower slopes of the mountain are the Gabon, Green Mamba, Boomslang, and the Twig Snake. All snakes pose a potential threat so it is wise to always respect them and their habitat in case you encounter one on the way. Snakes are known to be highly sensitive to movement, so when they sense something arriving, they will clearly stay away from the main trails to save their own lives.

Yes and no! You may want to climb Kilimanjaro alone without other hikers or crowd – it is possible. But even then, you will be assisted by guides and porters. Although you will be the only trekker, you will not be alone in the truest sense as the Tanzanian Tourism Board does not permit trekking without a guide, porter and other crew members. The ratio of trekkers to support crew is 1:4 meaning that if you are the only climber, you will be assisted by 4 other members of your trekking company.

When you look at the difference between Kilimanjaro Climb and Everest Base Camp Trek, you are going to higher altitude much quicker on Kilimanjaro than Everest base camp. From Moshi (2,932 ft.) to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro (19,341 ft.) it takes 4 to 6 days depending on the route, which is more than 16,000 ft. gain in altitude. From Kathmandu (4,600 ft.) to the base camp of Everest (17,599 ft.) it takes 8 to 9 days, which is almost 13,000 ft. gain in altitude but trekkers need to walk longer daily distance on the Everest Base Camp trek. In the Everest region, trekkers will sleep at teahouses or luxury lodges throughout the entire trip whereas on Kilimanjaro, except for the Marangu route, trekkers will have to sleep inside tents. While there are lots of ups and downs on the Everest trekking route, the summit night on Kilimanjaro is harder than anything on the entire Everest trail. The overall summit success rate on Kilimanjaro, as per the statistics is 65% while the success rate of Everest Base Camp is over 90%. So, Kilimanjaro climb is harder than Everest Base Camp trek especially because of the quick ascent and rapid altitude gain on Kilimanjaro.

The summit of Mt. Kilimanjaro, also known as Uhuru Point, lies in the glacial zone with an average temperature hovering around -6°C (21°F) during day time. However, all summiting attempts begin around midnight in order to reach the Uhuru peak at dawn. So, you will be trekking during the night time when the temperatures range between -7 to -29°C (19 to -20°F).

WHAT OTHER TRAVELERS SAYS?

Planning a Trip?

We have a pool of travel experts working in this industry for more than a decade. Consult to get started.

Plan Your Trip