6 hill forts of Rajasthan now in UNESCO World Heritage List

The UNESCO World Heritage List now includes six hill forts of Rajasthan—Amber, Chittorgarh, Gangron, Jaisalmer, Kumbhalgarh and Ranthambore. The hills forts were approved at the ongoing 37th Meeting of the World Heritage Committee in Pnom Penh, Cambodia, informed Bina Kak, Minister for Tourism, Art & Culture, Archaeology, Printing Stationery, Forest & Environment, Woman & Child Development (Additional Charge), Government of Rajasthan. The selection of these forts, located in different cities of the state, as a serial cultural property, is the first of its kind by UNESCO, as per a release.

Kak said, “The selection of these forts is a reflection of our work done in the past. We stand by our commitment towards conservation and protection of our rich cultural heritage, of which we are immensely proud.”

The Minister added that the selection of these six forts enhance international recognition to the state, just the way the Jantar Mantar in Jaipur did after being selected in the World Heritage List in 2010.

Source: TBM-24 June, 2013

Leave a Reply

Planning a Trip?

We have a pool of travel experts working in this industry for more than a decade. Consult to get started.

Plan Your Trip