• NEPAL - Gokyo Lakes and Gokyo Ri Trek on 30th Oct, 2017 Join a Group
  • NEPAL - Mera Peak Climbing on 12th Nov, 2017 Join a Group
  • BHUTAN - Bhutan Tour with day hikes on 27th Apr, 2018 Join a Group
25 Years
Since 1992
Call Our Nepal Office at:(977) 9851055684
Call Our USA Office at:704-200-7512
Filter by:
Easy way to filter traveler experience
305 travelers have reviewed
Australia6 Jan, 2008
Chris Hutton

Everest Base Camp Trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

"First of all, we had a great trip. It's a beautiful country you have, and trekking is a fantastic way to see it. From the start- We found your company through your website which was very helpful .the pick up at the airport was great, I think it's important to have the airport pick up because people may have found it hard to find the Hotel Shanker using local cab drivers. The Shanker was fantastic, excellent, polite, helpful staff, good breakfast and comfortable rooms.

The first night’s traditional Nepalese dinner was excellent, definitely keep this place as a regular part of your treks. Good introduction to the food, the dancing and singing etc.

the day's sightseeing was ok- we liked the sights themselves, but our guide Syeam gave a bit too much information, and as a result we didn't really learn as much as we could've about each of the places. I think that if he talked less, and gave important points on each place we would've taken a lot more in. Overall this was very good too though.

Enjoyed Rum Doodles- you have a good list of restaurants to take your clients to, this was one thing we noted.

overall comments about the trek- excellent. I actually think that you should market the December/ January period as a great time to do the trek. While it gets cold at night, the days are warm, and the clear skies give great photos. The guest houses are empty meaning that you get dinner served quickly, and you sleep well because there's no noise. Perhaps your website should also reflect the fact that if your timeline is tighter, you can tailor a trek to suit your available time. Your recommendations on what we needed to bring were spot on. The pace of the walking was fine, not too fast, not too slow. The guest houses were very impressive, excellent food, nice people and good facilities. Our trek went fine, with no hiccups at all until the last few days. We enjoyed the level of flexibility we were allowed, meaning that you can walk shorter or longer each day depending on how you feel, and where you'd like to spend more time.
At the end we ran into problems at Lukla with the flights cancelled. Obviously this is no-one's fault and can't really be avoided. The planning Homnath did to get us back to Kathmandu on time was excellent, and while we were very lucky in the end- the work he did saved us a lot of money and worry.Perhaps we could've considered the option to fly to Jiri then drive to Kathmandu a little earlier, because we were lucky to fly to Jiri- but no complaints.

The porter was fantastic- very polite, friendly and always smiling. I'm not sure how much these porters are paid, but I hope they are looked after, because it's one aspect of the trip that is important to the tourists, and we really appreciate the work these guys do.

Homnath was excellent- spoke great English and did his upmost to ensure we were happy, and enjoying ourselves. On the way down, he did get a long way ahead of us at times, leaving us to find our own way along the path, but when we spoke to him about it he stayed with us, which was good. We did notice that he always addresses the male, and doesn't really ask the female for her opinions. Perhaps this is a cultural thing, which is fine- but often the female likes being included in discussions.

In summary, there was no part of our trek that we were disappointed with. We would have no hesitation to recommend Homnath and your company to any of our family and friends. If we were to come back to Nepal to do more trekking, we would certainly do it through your group.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States23 Dec, 2007
Carol Gunter

My dream trip to Everest Base Camp Trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

Namaste! Greetings to anyone who is considering a trip to Nepal,
I have just returned from trekking to Everest Base Camp with Himalayan Glacier Trekking Ltd. HGT is a friendly, well organized locally owned company. The trekking trip to Everest Base Camp was something that I have dreamed about for many years. I can say that the trip was everything I had dreamed about and so much MORE!

The Guides and Porters hired by HGT are the best! Friendly, helpful, informative and they took care of every detail along the way. After the trip, I teased our Guide Parkash Devkota that he had become more than a guide. Along the way, Parkash became “Dr. Parkash” when people got sick, “Fitness Coach” when we needed encouragement on the acclimation hikes, “Tour guide” for the many stories that he told, and he became my “Personal Shopper” when it came time to shop for friends at home. The entire staff was always willing to stop what they were doing to answer a question, or help us figure things out. (Like finding a post office, or bank or even helping us order a meal.)

Many trekkers chose to “go it alone” and find there own places to stay. Now that I am an experienced trekker to Nepal, I would still rather travel with Himalayan Glacier Trekking than go on my own. This company knows the route, the villages and the Tea Houses along the way which meant that we ate and slept in comfort and did not have to worry about finding a place to stay. Other benefits of traveling with HGT include the fact that all of their guides and porters are locals. The trip becomes not only a scenic hiking adventure, but a true cultural experience. You will learn so much about the country and people of Nepal as you trek through the Himalayas.

The HGT group sizes are smaller, which gives trekkers the flexibility to design portions of the trip to suit individual desires. For example: when I was the only one in my group that wanted to hike to the top of Kalapattar to watch the sunrise, the guide figured out a way to take me up there, and still be able to meet the other team members for breakfast. Watching the sunrise over Everest with our guide, Prakash and one of the porters Jussa, created memories that I will have for the rest of my life. All I can say is it was beautiful and AMAZING all at once. It is my pleasure to recommend Himalayan Glacier Trekking to anyone planning a trip to Nepal and I am happy and willing to correspond with any future clients that you may have.

Thank you so much for making my dream trip to Everest Base Camp a reality. I look forward to returning to Nepal for another trip with your company.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States20 Oct, 2007
Lowell Van Zuiden

What was a wonderful holiday

Annapurna Circuit Trek

What was a wonderful holiday around the Annapurna circuit Trek"Thank you for your note. Yes we have arrived back home and are back to the routine. Arjun went home via Europe where he spent several weeks and visited his sister in London. He is now getting ready to return to university. I am back to replacing arthritic joints and anticipating my next trip to Chennai for an orthopedic meeting.

Arjun and I had a wonderful time on our trek around the Annapurna circuit. All aspects of the circuit were enjoyable especially the scenic views such as the approach to the town of Tal and Manang, the visit to the hundred rupee lama, the trek from Manang to Throng La, ascending and descending from Throng La on an absolutely spectacular day with the scenery to match and having the opportunity to hike through the beautiful valleys and experience the wonderful ethnic, geographic and cultural diversity as we walked from town to town. Many times I reflect on various aspects of the trek: walking into Marpha through the apple trees, the desert like scenery from Muktinath to Cagbeni, walking down the river valley into Jomsom, the beautiful walk in the mist from Tatopanni to Gorepanni and so many other wonderful times that we enjoyed during our 17 days.

I have to say that our trip was made much more enjoyable having Raj and PJ as our guide and porter respectively. Raj provided many insights to all aspects of the trek including the sightings of the Langur monkeys, sharing his vast knowledge with Arjun and I related to all aspects of the trek. We both enjoyed his company and PJ was a trooper. In these individuals, Himalayan Glacier has two excellent staff people and both Arjun and I enjoyed their company and their contribution to our wonderful holiday.

I would certainly be pleased to act as a reference for any clients considering Himalayan Glacier for their trek. Our experience was professionally handled, flawlessly executed (notwithstanding the gas filter on your car) and I would be pleased to provide a recommendation to any potential clients. I can also say that the pre and post trek aspects of the were well planned by Himalayan Glacier.

Thank you for your contribution to what was a wonderful holiday.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States13 Aug, 2007
Miew aka Chan

A journey to purify my soul

Everest Base Camp Trek

Firstly I would like to thank you (Himalayan Glacier) and your staff for such a wonderful and memorable experience in Nepal.The journey to Everest Base Camp is like a journey to purify my soul and opening my eyes and my mind. The peaceful villages, friendly villagers, scenic route left me the best ever memories, nothing is more valuable than these in my whole life. Thanks to Himalayan Glacier Trekking who helped me to organize my trip.

I would highly recommend this trekking agency to all of you, simply because they think our safety and enjoyment the first than the profit! In fact not all profits are going to them, but they do contribute to the society and charity organization. How cheerful are they?

Himalayan Glacier offered a fair, in fact a very good price to me. Nothing comes free in the world, but Himalayan Glacier will ensure you one thing is FREE, which is Worry Free!  

I had a trustful and experienced companion for the 15 days journey at Solukhumbu, Hira Lamichhane as my trekking guide. I`m glad that to have him beside especially I was the lone trekker. He would never be too far, whenever I need him, I just called his name, he would be there; When I have no problem, he would also approached me to ensure everything is going fine!

The song ? Resham Firiri? ends, trekking ends but friendship never ends. Walk in to Himalayan Glacier, and there will be no regret in your life!

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States5 Jul, 2007
Natasa

Three weeks tour in Tibet

Lhasa with Mansarovar Lake and Kailash Kora

We were five women in a group and our travel started in Khatmandu/Nepal in july 2007.  Mr. Naba from Himalayan Glacier agency (www.himalayanglacier.com) organised for us three weeks tour in Tibet.From Hotel Encounter (nice hotel very near Thamel) the agency arranged for us drive to the border place Kodari, then with a help of Nepali guide we crossed the border and soon we met our Tibetan guide Mr. Chiwang and two jeep drivers.


In Zanghmu, the first town in Tibet, we changed some money and late in the night came to Nyalam (3700 m), where we slept in a very clean and nice rooms.

Our next stop was Tingri and on the way to there we crossed the pass Torong La (5200 m). The landscape was inspite of bad weather magic. In Tingri we learned that the road to the Everest Base Camp is very bad because of raining, so we changed the plan and continued our travel to Lhatse and Sakya. We stopped in Sakya for a visit an old monastery and then we drove further to Shigatse. We stayed over night in the Tibetan Farmers Hotel. Shigatse is a nice town with impressive Tashilumpo Monastery, interesting Summer Palace and peaceful park with old chortens.

In Gyantse was our next stop. First we visited the old castle, from where is nice view to the old and new part of town. The old town spreads till very high stupa (32,4 m) with 108 cells countaining venerable mural paintings. After quite long drive we reached Lhasa, the capital town of Tibet. Here we stayed five nights in the Hotel Pata on Barkhor Square. In the surroundings of the hotel is Jokhang, the most sacred temple in Tibet and Potala Temple, the most impressive building in Lhasa. We visited also Norbulinka – The Dalailamas Summer Palace, the Drepung Monastery, Sera Monastery and one day we spent in Ganden Monastery, located about 45 km east of Lhasa.

But our main wish was circling around Kailash and before that visiting the highest monastery in the world – Rongbuk and Everest Base Camp. When we returned to Tingri, the weather was again very bad, the road wet and muddy, but anyway we drove to EBC and also saw the top of the Mount Everest in the moment when clouds ran away. This was something special. I got a feeling that the top of the mountain is touching the sky.

On the way back to Tingri, we had some car damages, but this was nothing serious. After lunch in Tingri we drove in the direction to Saga. On the way we had heavy raining and after crossing Qomolangma Natural Protection Area, we sticked on a bank of the river. The water was too high for crossing. It was already late in the afternoon, so the only possibility was to spent night in the jeeps.

Next morning the river was only narrow stream, so we could continued drive to Saga and the same day we reached Zongba. We slept there in a quite bad hotel (Yak Hotel), but it was the best in the village.

The weather became better and the landscape more and more beautiful. We drove toward Darchen, the village from where we started our three days walk around Kailash. First we reached Lake Manasarovar. It was turquoise and sparkled in the sunset From there we saw Mount Kailash, the centre of the universe for Hindus, Budhist and Jains. The view was magnificant.
We overnight in Darchen, our guide arranged the porters for our luggage and next morning we started our pilgrimage. First day we walked only three hours till Drira Phuk Monastery. The place is located in a nice valley precisely opposite Mount Kailash.
The weather was clear these day, so the view was remarkable. We slept in a dormitory near the monastery.

Next day we were walking cross the Drolma La (5636 m) to the Zutrul Phuk. These was long walking day ( 8 hours ), but very nice. Zutrul Phuk is a place with small monastery and also with small dormitory. We spent night there and next morning we had only two and half hours back to Darchen. The circle was completed. I was happy and sad in the same time. Happy because I fulfilled my long wish and sad because I knew that I should soon say goodby to this beautil country.

Anyway we spent another two days near Manasarovar lake and this was fantastic again. The lake and the surrounding is beautiful. West of Manasarovar is Lake Raksas. Between two lakes is a channel known as Ganga Chu. We slept in the Guest house very near the lake and only a half kilometer from village Chiu with monastery and nice chortens on the hill. If I will have chance to come in Tibet again, I would like to trek around the lake.

After two wonderful days near Manasarovar Lake, we started drive back toward to Paryang, Saga, Zangmu and the fouth day we came back to Khatmandu.

I can say, that we spent really nice weeks in Tibet. I realised, that travelling in Tibet can enrich ones personality, but one must be prepare on this country physicaly and even more psychicly.

I am thankful to Mr. Chiwang, our guide, and our jeep drivers for their help and patience. And of course to Mr. Naba from Himalayan Glacier Agency for arranging us this travel.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Ireland8 Jun, 2007
Simonne and Paul

Annapurna circuit trek

Annapurna Circuit Trek

We just wanted to say thanks again for organising such a brilliant Annapurna circuit trek. Prakase and Sontas were excellent as Guide, Porter and travel companions. We had a really good laugh with them and they were full of information about the Anapurna region.
The Anapurna Circut has been the best trek Paul and I have ever done and I just wanted to say thank you for organising the trip, accomodation, transfers, the safari trip and the rest of it so brilliantly. Everything went like clockwork and we were extremely happy and well looked after. We would definitely love to do this trek again and we'll be giving you a call if we do! We will definitely recommend Himalayan Glacier to any of our friends thinking of doing this trek. I've attached some photo's of us at the Thorong la pass

Thanks so much

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States25 May, 2007
Gerald Lewinsohn

It was such an Extraordinary Adventure

Everest Base Camp Trek

Namaste! I hope all is well with you and Himalayan Glacier Trekking. It has been 4 months since we left for Nepal and 3 months since we returned home. We think of our trip often because it was such an extraordinary adventure. Now that a few months have passed, the highlights of our trek to Everest stand out even more vividly in retrospect than they did at the time.

 In reviewing those highlights most people would expect us to wax poetically about the beautiful wooded countryside on the way to Namche. Also who could forget the scary crossings of those wonderfully engineered suspension bridges replete with their colorful prayer flags billowing in the breeze while far below the rapidly flowing bluish-tinged glacier water (of the Dudh Khosi and Imja Khola rivers), twisted its way from up high, framed by steep cliffs on either side. Others would expect us to dwell on the Yaks, those magnificent creatures, unknown to most Westerners, that can only survive in the rarified atmosphere in and above Namche and that are so important to the local economy. Yet others would cite the cultural aspects of the Bhuddists through whose villages we trekked and who made such an indelible impression on us with their spirituality, their gentle ways, and the warmth of their beautiful smiles. And of course who would not expect us to rave about the raw starkness and hostile remoteness of the legendary Himalayan peaks that brought us to the Khumbu region in the first place.

But despite the thrill of all of the above and the many more memorable incidents too numerous to mention along the way, what really stands out when we think of our trip is the excellent service you and your staff provided, literally from the time we landed in Kathmandu on December 26, 2006 until we left on January 18, 2007. As you recall we were a group of just two… my wife and myself. On the trek our guides were Raj and Nirkuma and our porters were Lakpa and Ramish. Our trek was far from routine particularly given our dietary preferences, the fact that we were older (and in my case probably far less fit) than the average trekker and finally the inordinate delay presented by the weather on the way back from Lukla and consequently all that was entailed in terms of our reserved flights home.

You and your staff handled all the challenges of our trek in a most professional and caring way with appropriate attention to detail that makes all the difference when the unexpected arises. What we especially valued and very much appreciate was the concern for our welfare and safety that was always paramount with your team. They were also very considerate and kind. You can be very proud of them! When the possibility arose of a large group of trekkers unexpectedly filling a lodge, Raj would rush ahead to make sure space was available for us. When I would linger along the trail to take more photographs, Nirkuma would go out of his way to help me if needed. When we arrived at our lodge some evenings tired and hungry, our guides saw to it that we were provided with food and tea with minimum delay. When we departed in the mornings your men would make sure we had left nothing behind. Also, there was no pressure whatsoever imposed on us to rush and we were encouraged to pace ourselves and to follow a flexible schedule. This I think greatly facilitated our acclimatization and ultimate success in reaching the top of Kala Patthar.

A word about our porters, Ramish and Lapka: They did a phenomenal job, whatever the climbing conditions. Our gear was always waiting for us in our room when we arrived at our destination each evening and was always picked up promptly in the morning when we were ready to leave. They never once complained, always treated our luggage with care they would their own and always greeted us with a warm and friendly smile.

Finally we also have to compliment two of your Kathmandu staff, David and Hira. They were so helpful on our last day when we arrived back with barely time to make our international flight home. They monitored the flights in from Lukla, picked us as soon as we arrived, whisked us through heavy traffic into town to change our tickets, rushed us to our hotel to pick up our left luggage and returned us to the airport just in time to make our flight. This was a remarkable level of service under the circumstances.

As a tourist in an unfamiliar environment it is really important to be taken care of by a highly professional and experienced team who can be depended upon, especially when the unexpected happens. Himalayan Glacier Trekking unequivocally delivered for us and we most happily recommend your company without hesitation. Please feel free to pass on my email address to any and all prospective clients.

Best wishes for your continued success,

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States23 May, 2007
Nick

At the Bottom of the Top of the World

Everest Base Camp Trek

After much persuasion I finally convinced Nick that is was a much better decision to hike for 16 days through the Himalayas, experience altitude sickness and trek to the Everest Base Camp rather than going for the easy trekking option of flying to Jomsom, trekking 5 days downhill and having no problems of getting back to Kathmandu!

We joined a group of 5 other trekkers and our Everest Base Camp trek started in a very civilised manner with a traditional Nepalese meal and dancing which included a Nepali version of Emu, a dressed up Peacock, and some mad dancer dressed up as the infamous Yeti.

The next morning was an early start to catch a flight to Lukla where we were to commence our trek. We should not have bothered getting up so early as flights to Lukla are invariably cancelled due to bad weather and had been for the last two days, thus we ended up waiting 6 hours in Kathmandu's domestic airport with nothing to do but listen to very dated Nepalese pop videos (there's me showing my age using the word 'pop'). Come 1pm, we were so excited to board our twin propellor plane that ooked like it would make for a fun ride...and it did. We were given cotton wool balls for our ears by the on-board hostess who had to duck 'cos the plane was so small.

Our 2nd day was to be a killer as we hiked for a good 7 hours ending with an 800m climb to the bustling town of Namche Bazaar. I had to take several rests on the climb up towards the town and of course was at the back of the group, as I had expected to be for the majority of the trip! Unfortunately when a couple of us enquired to our guide, the legendary KP, "Is this the hardest day?",

his reply was a definitive "No, Day 6,7.8 is harder than l today". Our hotel in Namche was quite plush with an ensuite room and some multiple legged hairy bugs, a good thing as we were due to spend a couple of days there acclimitazing. Namche formed the original trading route between Tibet and Nepal. Every Saturday they have a market where the locals buy anything from beer to foodstuffs that have been carried up the mountain for two days or more by the super strong Sherpas who can carry up to 100 kilos on their backs - they are the Nepalese version of Jeff Capes and very amazing!

 
After Namche we headed to a village called Khumjung (3810m), along the route we stopped at the 5 star Everest View Hotel built by the Japanese where we enjoyed a hot chocolate and of course the view of Everest. Khumjung is a small town where we took a short afternoon stroll to the local monastery. The attraction there was the skull of a Yeti that had been given to the town as a gift. The yeti head was very exclusive and locked away in a old gray filing cabinet only viewable after the donation of a few rupees. Well we could not resist seeing the remains of this legendary creature, however it looked more like an odd shaped human skull than that of a Yeti (I had seen a few Yetis on my way up so could distinguish that it was a fake), we were not entirely convinced with the story!

Our next day was spent descending and then climbing up 600m to get 70m higher to the town of Tengboche that rests at 3870m. Its famous for having the highest monastery in the world which was pretty impressive; Nick saw a monk with a playstation - its good to know that they have some time out. Day 6 of our schedule was spent dodging 100s of Yaks (big hairy cow type creatures) that were making their way back from Base Camp, fully loaded with gear from recent expeditions. After a filling lunch of tomato coloured, but not flavoured soup, we made our way to a town called Dingboche (4620m) that was going to be our home for the next two nights to acclimitaze.

Our rest day (Day 7) was thoughtfully spent climbing 400m up quite a big mountain to acclimitaze some more and get past the magic 5000m altitude mark, it took a good three hours and was completely knackering but worth it for the views at the top (even though the clouds had come in by the time we had got there, typical :)). Earlier we had watched runners of the highest marathon in the world (from Everest Base Camp to Namche Bazaar), its pretty tough stuff as you can imagine but the most impressive runner was an Irish guy who was blind and was running the whole marathon being guided by trekking poles attached to each wrist, pretty unbelievable to watch but we heard that he crossed the finish line at midnight. (He was guided by a friend in front holding two walking poles. The instructions varied little from "Rock, Uneven, Rock, Uneven" - you get the picture. The same guy has also done a few other crazy marathons - lowest, coldest etc.

We were getting closer to our destination and after an uneventful but completely sleepless night in Lobuche (4930m) we made our way to Gorak Shep (the town before Base Camp at 5160m). The walk there was not the most pleasant as alot of us were suffering from splitting headaches (a side effect of the altitude),

however we made it there after 2 1/2 hours of walking. That was only the start as after a hearty breakfast and lots of lemon tea we started on a 3 hour walk to Base Camp, at last! The walk was the 'same again' with lots of ups and downs but the views were pretty stunning as we got to walk alongside the Khumbu Glacier that runs down from Everest Base Camp. After a few slippery moments on the glacier we made it to the camp. It was quite cool to see where all these mad people start out the expedition but there were not too many tents left as most of the teams had already summited and left. After lots of obligatory team photos and a well deserved Snickers bar we made our way back to Gorak Shep for another sleepless night which was a killer after a good 8 hours of walking.

The next day we started our ascent of Kala Pattar, a 5545m mountain that gives great views of Everest and the surrounding horseshoe of mountains. I was quite grizzly before the ascent , having had a couple of hours sleep and a splitting headache so only made it 100m up the mountain before I thought 'sod this for a game of soldiers I am going back to bed'. Nick made it all the way to the top and said it was an amazing view, I got to see the pictures so I was not overly concerned that I was in fact a failure! Once the proper climbers had had their breakfast we headed down, I was so pleased at this point as had had enough of this high altitude malarky.

It took 2 days of walking to get back to Namche Bazaar where we celebrated Nick's 30th Birthday in style complete with drinking games, a chocolate birthday cake, and Tibetan prayer scarves that were given to Nick for good luck from the Sherpas. After a lazy rest day we walked down to Lukla - what took us 9 days to walk up, took us 3 days to walk down! I was so glad to arrive in Lukla and with our flight confirmed for the next day things were looking rosy...

...Of course nothing ever turns out perfectly and the next morning we woke to clouds set into the valley...and they did not shift all day..and it rained all day- no flight for us then! The next morning was pretty much the same story so we spent the day watching 5 different movies and playing cards, this was the longest flight delay I had experienced and it was not much fun especially when we heard the longest people had spent waiting for the weather to clear was 9 days! I contemplated walking for another 3 days to get back to Kathmandu but thankfully by day 3 of waiting the valley was visible so we made a quick exit to the airport and nervously waited for our flight. As the clouds descended again it was a bit touch and go but we did take off and I sat right behind the cockpit so watched the whole operation of the flight - looks a piece of phish this flying lark! It was good to be back in the hussle, bussle and smelly fumes of Kathmandu! The trekking company treated us to a celebration meal in the Rum Doodle Bar - a great way to end the trip and thanks to Himalayan Glacier - a very good company to go with (www.himalayanglacier.com).

really glad to do the Everest Base Camp trip but would not like to do it again!

The plan from Katmandu was to head to Pokhara by raft and bus but the Nepali strikes put paid to this! We therefore spent a few days just hilling in KTM with Hector and Nick from the trek. We did manage one days rafting which was fun but the journey there and back a bit of a disaster. Traffice made a 2 hour journey 4 hours on the way and then a puncture cost us another 2 hours on the way back. The rafting was ok but the rapids pretty small and the water not too clean - especially when we saw a dead dog floating past!

We said our goodbyes to Hector, Naba, Sagar etc and headed to the airport with yet another strike affecting traffic! Luckily the flight was on time and 40 mins later we were back in India and Varanassi - this would normally be a 20 hour plus journey by road! Looking forward to the heat, fumes, and friendly Rickshaw Wallahs like a hole in the head.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Bulgaria12 May, 2007
Mr. Ognyan Varadinov

Everest Base Camp

Everest Base Camp Trek

Namaste!

First of all many many thanks for all Himalayan Glacier kindness and support. Without Himalayan Glacier professional help and work we would not be able to do this amaising jorney; many thanks for all your efforts and kindest cooperation. Please give our thanks to the whole staff of HGT; on the first place we would like to thank all - for all kidnes and helpful aproach.

We are lucky to have HGT as our personal travel advisor for our stay in Nepal.

Furthermore we would like ot thank Home and our guide in the Kathmandu valley, both were very professional and reliable, it was a pleasure having them with us.
I hope to see all of you when we come again to Nepal - I have no doubt, we will come again some times!

My colleague Irena in planing a trip to Anapurna this Oct - Nov, will keep in touch for ever.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States26 Apr, 2007
Lynda and Peter Newbery

Could not stop writing about trip

Lhasa to Everest Base Camp Tour

Thanks for getting in touch.We arrived back in Bristol yesterday after a really great trip.I have some feedback for you! Guide and driver were both fantastic, they took good care of us and were able to be flexible about the trip.

1. The Land Cruiser was good and quite comfortable.

2. We were a very happy group of three, Rodolfo was the best possible travelling companion.

3. No problems with visas, permits etc., all went very smoothly and our arrival in Tibet was well-managed by Passang, our guide.

4. Accommodation was fine. You may be interested to know we found the most basic places (Nyalam and Tingri) were cleaner than the more sophisticated hotels at Shigatse and Gyantse.

5. Altitude sickness was a problem.
We felt there was not enough time to adjust in the first two days. Two of us were too ill to continue to Mt Qomolangma on the third day. Passang was very helpful and re-organised the programme, so that we stayed an extra day in Tingri to give us a chance to recover. Next day we went to Mt Qomolangma and stayed long enough to get up to the Base Camp. Then we had a long afternoon drive to Shigatse, which was hard on the driver but he was willing to do it and drove very well. We then stayed 2 nights in Shigatse (paid a little extra), which was lovely - it gave us time to stroll around the town as well as visiting the monastery (Tashilunpo).

6. Everything was good in Lhasa, we really loved staying in the Flora Hotel and having the opportunity to wander round the Barkhor area. By pure chance, we had to visit the Potala Palace in the afternoon, so went to the Jokhang Temple in the morning. This was a wonderful experience as we were in the company of many cheerful pilgrims and were able to see and listen to the monks chanting in the Assembly Hall. On our second day, instead of the Drepung and Sera Monastery, we followed Passang's suggestion and went to the Tibetan Museum, which we found most interesting - we all felt we had seen enough monasteries!

Passang was very conscientious and made sure we were safely delivered to our second hotel in Lhasa and that we got our train tickets. By the way, I would not recommend the Lhasa Hotel to anyone - not good value for money!

In the light of the changes we made to the schedule, you might consider offering alternative arrangements, especially for people of our age!

Overall, I must say that the problems were very small and the trip as a whole was very enjoyable and successful. Thank you so much for organising everything so well, we will definitely recommend your services to our friends.

If you need any more information about our trip, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Do not miss any deals !!! Subscribe Now