• NEPAL -Annapurna Sanctuary Trek on 23rd Dec, 2017 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Everest Base Camp Trek via Gokyo Lakes and Cho La Pass on 02 Mar, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -EBC Trek and Fly Back by Helicopter on 18 Mar, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Annapurna Sanctuary Trek on 16 Apr, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Langtang Gosainkunda and Helambu Trek on 16 Apr, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Everest Base Camp Trek via Gokyo Lakes on 16 and 27 Apr, 2018 Join a Group
  • BHUTAN - Bhutan Tour with day hikes on 27th Apr, 2018 Join a Group
25 Years
Since 1992
Call Our Nepal Office at:(977) 985-1055-684
Call Our USA Office at:540-498-8629
Filter by:
Easy way to filter traveler experience
319 travelers have reviewed
United States15 Mar, 2008
John

Great hike with Himalayan Glacier

Island Peak Expedition

Namaste !!!
 

You will have a great hike with himalayan Glacier. Our guide was named Dindi Sherpa and was very attenitive and alway's put safety first. He also got the most effort out of us and helped in our success... He was a mountaineering guide so I think you would have to add one of the hiking peakes to your list  (Island Peak) most likely for his services. We had a guide(Dindi) that spoke great english and two porters for the 3 of us hiking. The program basically was every morning we gave the porters our belongings to carry and we each carried a day pack that was probobly around 5-8 pounds for day use. You would carry water,toilet paper, maybe some candy bars and some lighter or heavier clothing rain gear depending...
 

I would advise bringing some anti biodics in case of a deep in the lungs type colds, Diomax .. You need 500 MG a day but have them prescribed in 250 MG pill size and do two a day instead of a single dosage. Also Immodium, You will get the shits !!  
 

Make sure you take clothing that can be layed because the morning start out cold and get hot by mid morning. A lot of the heat is that you will be in higher elevations and your heart just has to run that much harder even at rest..  
 

Tom, my trekking partner from here in Grand Rapids michigan both can not say enough about how great himalayan glacier was.  
 

Oh, If you are going to stay at the "Hotel Encounter" go for a room on the top floor. when you first get there it will be a chore going up and down but when you get back from the hike it will be a quick sprint.    

 
Feel free to write me or Tom on any questions you may have on your hike........

If you are dealing with Sagar Pandey, He is a great guy.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Iran, Islamic Republic of11 Mar, 2008
Amir Hajjar Zarrin

Autumn I will again be coming to Nepal

Island Peak Expedition

I started climbing 23 years ago and since then I have climbed many peaks. In Iran I have climbed Damarand (5671m), Alam Konh (4850m), Sabalan (4811m) among others. I  have also scaled Lenin Peak (7134m) in Kyrgyzstan.  I also do Rock Climbing and there are around 60 peaks in Iran above 4000m where we can do climbing.

I have already been to Nepal more than six times. The first time I came to Nepal was back in 2003 when I did 48 days of trekking to Everest Base Camp (EBC) and Annapurna Base Camp(ABC). Since 2004 I have been arranging my treks through Himalayan Glacier Trekking, one of the highly organized and professional trekking operators in Nepal.

I cannot forget the assistance provided by Himalayan Glacier Trekking in 2004. When my group was in Island Peak, one of my members was sick in Chokhung so I contacted HGT for Helicopter rescue. They promptly sent a helicopter in Dingboche. But sadly my friend could not make it in spite of our rescue efforts. Naba is a very professional and helpful person. I fully trust Himalayan Glacier and all its staffs. Manager Sagar Pandey is very cooperative and the service tariff is reasonable.

The same year I tried to scale Island Peak but was only able to reach up to the High Camp. In the meantime I also did Annapurna Sanctuary trek. The following year I brought a group of 10 Iranian tourists and we went Round Annapurna and ABC and did rafting over a period of 24 days.

This time I have come to Nepal with 9 tourists and we have successfully climbed the Island Peak (5,500m). The team also included 3 lady trekkers. The team did a trek to Gokyo Ri and climbed up to Kalapathar (5,545 m) and 5 of the members left for
Island Peak from Chokkong.

I have climbed Mera Peak too. Compared to Mera Peak, Island was a bit more technical and difficult. Mera largely involves climbing not requiring much technical coordination. It was little easy for us to climb Island Peak because the Sherpas fix the rope and they are there always to assist us. All Sherpas are highly competent and very easy to work with. For me this time acclimatization was quite o.k. though I come from a very low elevation country. I chose Island Peak because it is good for beginner climbers. Moreover it is easy and not that expensive. It is also of shorter duration since you can launch and come back from summit in two days.

Food and accommodation was up to the standard. Sometimes we had full board and sometimes we had to do with camping. Lodge accommodation in Everest is excellent and so is food and water. Our sherpa guides and porters took care of everything so we didn’t have to worry about hygiene and comfort.

Nepal is a small country but has most of the highest peaks in the world including 8 of the world’s highest. Pakistan don’t have porters but here in Nepal porters available.

I come to Nepal on and off for business and traveling. I have my own company in Iran called Aftab Trek and I also deal in trekking and climbing equipment. Currently I am the brand manager for 7 Gohar which provides technical equipment of high quality such as ice axe, crampons, tents, trekking shoes etc. If we have time we go sightseeing around Kathmandu Valley, Pokhara, Gorkha and Chitwan. We also go for rafting and never miss to go International Mountain Museum.

Autumn I will again be coming to Nepal in when I have plans to climb Ama Dablam. Ama Dablam is the “Arous” or the bride of the Himalayas. It is one of the most beautiful mountains.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States8 Mar, 2008
Keith Benz

Island peak climbing was great

Island Peak Expedition

Namaste to all of you in Nepal.  I wish to thank you for the wonderful services provided to me during my stay in Nepal and Island Peak climbing.  I am finally home again in the United States and getting back to my normal life.  I'm sorry it's been some time since I've gotten a chance to email, but it's been very busy here.  

I hope all went well with your elections and everybody is happy.  I see that Nepal is now a republic.  I am writing this email to thank you and review the Island Peak expedition.  I must say I was nothing more than pleased with the guide services provided to me by Himalayan Glacier ,  my trekking leader Bimal Thapa and climbing leader  Man Bahadur.  Bimal was always considered my needs and was in great shape as well. 

He was very flexible in scheduling our days, because some days we were a very fast team, and were easily able to travel further than the suggested ittinerary.  He was also very resourcefull when it came to knowing the names of the mountains in the area and other advice I needed.  I feel that he did a great job selecting lodges along the trek that were comfortable and hospitable. 

 

I felt that Bimal was more of a friend to me than a guide which made traveling alone very nice.  All the logistics of the trip went well as far as food, lodging, dates, and other arrangements went.  I am pleased with the fact that you were able to make such a custom itinerary such as the sightseeing tour I got to go on in Kathmandu instead of two days of rock climbing.  The porter that was arranged did a fine job as well. 

Man was very a very safe and patient climbing guide.  He was good at setting a pace that the entire group was comfortable with.  There were no technical difficulties on our climb, however he did a great job assisting some of the lesser experienced climbers achieve the summit.  The food at base camp was my favorite part of the whole trip.  The staff that put together our meals there did a fantastic job and I'd really like to thank them for their services!  I really have no complaints worth writing that happened during my Island PEAK Climbing with Himalaya Glacier Trekking. 

In short I can say you really took care of me.  Look forward to meeting you guys again soon. Hope all is well and take care.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States8 Mar, 2008
Greg Whealing

Memories of our Everest Base camp trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

The memories of our Everest Base camp trek in April are still very real. Each time there is a news item about Nepal the experience of the trek come flooding back. It was an unique experience for myself and Justin. This was naturally due to the magnificant mountains and people of Nepal but in a large part due to the efforts of your company Himalayan Glacier Trekking.The level of service of yourself and staff was first rate and beyond my expectations. I booked with Himalayan Glacier Trekking because of the reputation of the company which I learned from the many reviews from past trekkers on your web site. My experience can be added to this long list. Nothing was left to chance on the trek and the hospitality shown before the trek and after returning to Kathmandu was most impressive. I will be returning to Nepal and will use your company without hesitation. Nepal is such a sspecial country and I am indebted to Himalayan Glacier Trekking for making the experience special.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Australia6 Jan, 2008
Chris Hutton

Everest Base Camp Trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

"First of all, we had a great trip. It's a beautiful country you have, and trekking is a fantastic way to see it. From the start- We found your company through your website which was very helpful .the pick up at the airport was great, I think it's important to have the airport pick up because people may have found it hard to find the Hotel Shanker using local cab drivers. The Shanker was fantastic, excellent, polite, helpful staff, good breakfast and comfortable rooms.

The first night’s traditional Nepalese dinner was excellent, definitely keep this place as a regular part of your treks. Good introduction to the food, the dancing and singing etc.

the day's sightseeing was ok- we liked the sights themselves, but our guide Syeam gave a bit too much information, and as a result we didn't really learn as much as we could've about each of the places. I think that if he talked less, and gave important points on each place we would've taken a lot more in. Overall this was very good too though.

Enjoyed Rum Doodles- you have a good list of restaurants to take your clients to, this was one thing we noted.

overall comments about the trek- excellent. I actually think that you should market the December/ January period as a great time to do the trek. While it gets cold at night, the days are warm, and the clear skies give great photos. The guest houses are empty meaning that you get dinner served quickly, and you sleep well because there's no noise. Perhaps your website should also reflect the fact that if your timeline is tighter, you can tailor a trek to suit your available time. Your recommendations on what we needed to bring were spot on. The pace of the walking was fine, not too fast, not too slow. The guest houses were very impressive, excellent food, nice people and good facilities. Our trek went fine, with no hiccups at all until the last few days. We enjoyed the level of flexibility we were allowed, meaning that you can walk shorter or longer each day depending on how you feel, and where you'd like to spend more time.
At the end we ran into problems at Lukla with the flights cancelled. Obviously this is no-one's fault and can't really be avoided. The planning Homnath did to get us back to Kathmandu on time was excellent, and while we were very lucky in the end- the work he did saved us a lot of money and worry.Perhaps we could've considered the option to fly to Jiri then drive to Kathmandu a little earlier, because we were lucky to fly to Jiri- but no complaints.

The porter was fantastic- very polite, friendly and always smiling. I'm not sure how much these porters are paid, but I hope they are looked after, because it's one aspect of the trip that is important to the tourists, and we really appreciate the work these guys do.

Homnath was excellent- spoke great English and did his upmost to ensure we were happy, and enjoying ourselves. On the way down, he did get a long way ahead of us at times, leaving us to find our own way along the path, but when we spoke to him about it he stayed with us, which was good. We did notice that he always addresses the male, and doesn't really ask the female for her opinions. Perhaps this is a cultural thing, which is fine- but often the female likes being included in discussions.

In summary, there was no part of our trek that we were disappointed with. We would have no hesitation to recommend Homnath and your company to any of our family and friends. If we were to come back to Nepal to do more trekking, we would certainly do it through your group.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States23 Dec, 2007
Carol Gunter

My dream trip to Everest Base Camp Trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

Namaste! Greetings to anyone who is considering a trip to Nepal,
I have just returned from trekking to Everest Base Camp with Himalayan Glacier Trekking Ltd. HGT is a friendly, well organized locally owned company. The trekking trip to Everest Base Camp was something that I have dreamed about for many years. I can say that the trip was everything I had dreamed about and so much MORE!

The Guides and Porters hired by HGT are the best! Friendly, helpful, informative and they took care of every detail along the way. After the trip, I teased our Guide Parkash Devkota that he had become more than a guide. Along the way, Parkash became “Dr. Parkash” when people got sick, “Fitness Coach” when we needed encouragement on the acclimation hikes, “Tour guide” for the many stories that he told, and he became my “Personal Shopper” when it came time to shop for friends at home. The entire staff was always willing to stop what they were doing to answer a question, or help us figure things out. (Like finding a post office, or bank or even helping us order a meal.)

Many trekkers chose to “go it alone” and find there own places to stay. Now that I am an experienced trekker to Nepal, I would still rather travel with Himalayan Glacier Trekking than go on my own. This company knows the route, the villages and the Tea Houses along the way which meant that we ate and slept in comfort and did not have to worry about finding a place to stay. Other benefits of traveling with HGT include the fact that all of their guides and porters are locals. The trip becomes not only a scenic hiking adventure, but a true cultural experience. You will learn so much about the country and people of Nepal as you trek through the Himalayas.

The HGT group sizes are smaller, which gives trekkers the flexibility to design portions of the trip to suit individual desires. For example: when I was the only one in my group that wanted to hike to the top of Kalapattar to watch the sunrise, the guide figured out a way to take me up there, and still be able to meet the other team members for breakfast. Watching the sunrise over Everest with our guide, Prakash and one of the porters Jussa, created memories that I will have for the rest of my life. All I can say is it was beautiful and AMAZING all at once. It is my pleasure to recommend Himalayan Glacier Trekking to anyone planning a trip to Nepal and I am happy and willing to correspond with any future clients that you may have.

Thank you so much for making my dream trip to Everest Base Camp a reality. I look forward to returning to Nepal for another trip with your company.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States20 Oct, 2007
Lowell Van Zuiden

What was a wonderful holiday

Annapurna Circuit Trek

What was a wonderful holiday around the Annapurna circuit Trek"Thank you for your note. Yes we have arrived back home and are back to the routine. Arjun went home via Europe where he spent several weeks and visited his sister in London. He is now getting ready to return to university. I am back to replacing arthritic joints and anticipating my next trip to Chennai for an orthopedic meeting.

Arjun and I had a wonderful time on our trek around the Annapurna circuit. All aspects of the circuit were enjoyable especially the scenic views such as the approach to the town of Tal and Manang, the visit to the hundred rupee lama, the trek from Manang to Throng La, ascending and descending from Throng La on an absolutely spectacular day with the scenery to match and having the opportunity to hike through the beautiful valleys and experience the wonderful ethnic, geographic and cultural diversity as we walked from town to town. Many times I reflect on various aspects of the trek: walking into Marpha through the apple trees, the desert like scenery from Muktinath to Cagbeni, walking down the river valley into Jomsom, the beautiful walk in the mist from Tatopanni to Gorepanni and so many other wonderful times that we enjoyed during our 17 days.

I have to say that our trip was made much more enjoyable having Raj and PJ as our guide and porter respectively. Raj provided many insights to all aspects of the trek including the sightings of the Langur monkeys, sharing his vast knowledge with Arjun and I related to all aspects of the trek. We both enjoyed his company and PJ was a trooper. In these individuals, Himalayan Glacier has two excellent staff people and both Arjun and I enjoyed their company and their contribution to our wonderful holiday.

I would certainly be pleased to act as a reference for any clients considering Himalayan Glacier for their trek. Our experience was professionally handled, flawlessly executed (notwithstanding the gas filter on your car) and I would be pleased to provide a recommendation to any potential clients. I can also say that the pre and post trek aspects of the were well planned by Himalayan Glacier.

Thank you for your contribution to what was a wonderful holiday.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States13 Aug, 2007
Miew aka Chan

A journey to purify my soul

Everest Base Camp Trek

Firstly I would like to thank you (Himalayan Glacier) and your staff for such a wonderful and memorable experience in Nepal.The journey to Everest Base Camp is like a journey to purify my soul and opening my eyes and my mind. The peaceful villages, friendly villagers, scenic route left me the best ever memories, nothing is more valuable than these in my whole life. Thanks to Himalayan Glacier Trekking who helped me to organize my trip.

I would highly recommend this trekking agency to all of you, simply because they think our safety and enjoyment the first than the profit! In fact not all profits are going to them, but they do contribute to the society and charity organization. How cheerful are they?

Himalayan Glacier offered a fair, in fact a very good price to me. Nothing comes free in the world, but Himalayan Glacier will ensure you one thing is FREE, which is Worry Free!  

I had a trustful and experienced companion for the 15 days journey at Solukhumbu, Hira Lamichhane as my trekking guide. I`m glad that to have him beside especially I was the lone trekker. He would never be too far, whenever I need him, I just called his name, he would be there; When I have no problem, he would also approached me to ensure everything is going fine!

The song ? Resham Firiri? ends, trekking ends but friendship never ends. Walk in to Himalayan Glacier, and there will be no regret in your life!

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States5 Jul, 2007
Natasa

Three weeks tour in Tibet

Lhasa with Mansarovar Lake and Kailash Kora

We were five women in a group and our travel started in Khatmandu/Nepal in july 2007.  Mr. Naba from Himalayan Glacier agency (www.himalayanglacier.com) organised for us three weeks tour in Tibet.From Hotel Encounter (nice hotel very near Thamel) the agency arranged for us drive to the border place Kodari, then with a help of Nepali guide we crossed the border and soon we met our Tibetan guide Mr. Chiwang and two jeep drivers.


In Zanghmu, the first town in Tibet, we changed some money and late in the night came to Nyalam (3700 m), where we slept in a very clean and nice rooms.

Our next stop was Tingri and on the way to there we crossed the pass Torong La (5200 m). The landscape was inspite of bad weather magic. In Tingri we learned that the road to the Everest Base Camp is very bad because of raining, so we changed the plan and continued our travel to Lhatse and Sakya. We stopped in Sakya for a visit an old monastery and then we drove further to Shigatse. We stayed over night in the Tibetan Farmers Hotel. Shigatse is a nice town with impressive Tashilumpo Monastery, interesting Summer Palace and peaceful park with old chortens.

In Gyantse was our next stop. First we visited the old castle, from where is nice view to the old and new part of town. The old town spreads till very high stupa (32,4 m) with 108 cells countaining venerable mural paintings. After quite long drive we reached Lhasa, the capital town of Tibet. Here we stayed five nights in the Hotel Pata on Barkhor Square. In the surroundings of the hotel is Jokhang, the most sacred temple in Tibet and Potala Temple, the most impressive building in Lhasa. We visited also Norbulinka – The Dalailamas Summer Palace, the Drepung Monastery, Sera Monastery and one day we spent in Ganden Monastery, located about 45 km east of Lhasa.

But our main wish was circling around Kailash and before that visiting the highest monastery in the world – Rongbuk and Everest Base Camp. When we returned to Tingri, the weather was again very bad, the road wet and muddy, but anyway we drove to EBC and also saw the top of the Mount Everest in the moment when clouds ran away. This was something special. I got a feeling that the top of the mountain is touching the sky.

On the way back to Tingri, we had some car damages, but this was nothing serious. After lunch in Tingri we drove in the direction to Saga. On the way we had heavy raining and after crossing Qomolangma Natural Protection Area, we sticked on a bank of the river. The water was too high for crossing. It was already late in the afternoon, so the only possibility was to spent night in the jeeps.

Next morning the river was only narrow stream, so we could continued drive to Saga and the same day we reached Zongba. We slept there in a quite bad hotel (Yak Hotel), but it was the best in the village.

The weather became better and the landscape more and more beautiful. We drove toward Darchen, the village from where we started our three days walk around Kailash. First we reached Lake Manasarovar. It was turquoise and sparkled in the sunset From there we saw Mount Kailash, the centre of the universe for Hindus, Budhist and Jains. The view was magnificant.
We overnight in Darchen, our guide arranged the porters for our luggage and next morning we started our pilgrimage. First day we walked only three hours till Drira Phuk Monastery. The place is located in a nice valley precisely opposite Mount Kailash.
The weather was clear these day, so the view was remarkable. We slept in a dormitory near the monastery.

Next day we were walking cross the Drolma La (5636 m) to the Zutrul Phuk. These was long walking day ( 8 hours ), but very nice. Zutrul Phuk is a place with small monastery and also with small dormitory. We spent night there and next morning we had only two and half hours back to Darchen. The circle was completed. I was happy and sad in the same time. Happy because I fulfilled my long wish and sad because I knew that I should soon say goodby to this beautil country.

Anyway we spent another two days near Manasarovar lake and this was fantastic again. The lake and the surrounding is beautiful. West of Manasarovar is Lake Raksas. Between two lakes is a channel known as Ganga Chu. We slept in the Guest house very near the lake and only a half kilometer from village Chiu with monastery and nice chortens on the hill. If I will have chance to come in Tibet again, I would like to trek around the lake.

After two wonderful days near Manasarovar Lake, we started drive back toward to Paryang, Saga, Zangmu and the fouth day we came back to Khatmandu.

I can say, that we spent really nice weeks in Tibet. I realised, that travelling in Tibet can enrich ones personality, but one must be prepare on this country physicaly and even more psychicly.

I am thankful to Mr. Chiwang, our guide, and our jeep drivers for their help and patience. And of course to Mr. Naba from Himalayan Glacier Agency for arranging us this travel.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Ireland8 Jun, 2007
Simonne and Paul

Annapurna circuit trek

Annapurna Circuit Trek

We just wanted to say thanks again for organising such a brilliant Annapurna circuit trek. Prakase and Sontas were excellent as Guide, Porter and travel companions. We had a really good laugh with them and they were full of information about the Anapurna region.
The Anapurna Circut has been the best trek Paul and I have ever done and I just wanted to say thank you for organising the trip, accomodation, transfers, the safari trip and the rest of it so brilliantly. Everything went like clockwork and we were extremely happy and well looked after. We would definitely love to do this trek again and we'll be giving you a call if we do! We will definitely recommend Himalayan Glacier to any of our friends thinking of doing this trek. I've attached some photo's of us at the Thorong la pass

Thanks so much

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Do not miss any deals !!! Subscribe Now