• NEPAL -Annapurna Sanctuary Trek on 23rd Dec, 2017 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Everest Base Camp Trek via Gokyo Lakes and Cho La Pass on 02 Mar, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -EBC Trek and Fly Back by Helicopter on 18 Mar, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Annapurna Sanctuary Trek on 16 Apr, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Langtang Gosainkunda and Helambu Trek on 16 Apr, 2018 Join a Group
  • NEPAL -Everest Base Camp Trek via Gokyo Lakes on 16 and 27 Apr, 2018 Join a Group
  • BHUTAN - Bhutan Tour with day hikes on 27th Apr, 2018 Join a Group
25 Years
Since 1992
Call Our Nepal Office at:(977) 985-1055-684
Call Our USA Office at:540-498-8629
Filter by:
Easy way to filter traveler experience
321 travelers have reviewed
United States5 Nov, 2017
David Valdez

EBC 16 Day-Fantastic!!

Everest Base Camp Trek

I recently completed a successful sixteen day trek to Everest Base Camp in October 2017. I would like to express my sincerest thanks to the Himalayan Glacier team for making my once in a lifetime trip not only a reality but a dream come true. From the front office staff in Kathmandu particularly Narayan, who made planning the trip seem almost effortless, to my experienced expedition guide/leader Saroj and my porter Ramesh (Hollywood). Without their expert knowledge of the mountains, their strength of character and their humor, I am certain that I would not have accomplished my goal. Thanks to them, we made a successful ascent to Everest Base Camp, and this trip will go down as one of the highlights of my life.

For those of you who might be a little bit older (I am 59) or who might not have trekked at high altitude before, rest assured that the people at Himalayan Glacier are going to take good care of you and make your trek a success from start to finish. Other than doing some backpacking trips in the Sierras, I had not previously done any extensive hiking vacations and none at high altitude. While I trained for over four months and felt that I was in pretty good physical condition from my regular gym workouts and local day hikes, it was my experienced guide Saroj that got me up to Everest Base Camp and back down again safely. His ability to assess my physical conditioning, personality and keep me in check and focused mentally is what I feel ultimately lead to my successful trip. Both he and my Porter Ramesh were personable, friendly, engaging and always supportive. Even though the trekking was hard work, I had a blast the entire sixteen days!

Nepal is a wonderful and welcoming country. You will find that you meet many people both locals and fellow trekkers and guides from other groups at the various tea houses where you stay while on your trek. I certainly enjoyed the camaraderie of other trekkers and kindred spirits who traveled from every corner of the globe to make this once in a lifetime journey. However, the most fun that I had was spending my social time at dinner and tea with my guide and porter. My guide Soraj is an accomplished English speaker and is very personable and entertaining. My porter Ramesh was always ready with a friendly smile and laugh. Although a bit shy, I am sure he is an expert guide in the making. We had a lot of fun along the way even during those times when they were fully aware that I was under a lot of physical stress, as this is a serious and strenuous trek. Importantly, I always felt that Saroj had my best interests at heart, and that my personal safety was his primary concern. At the end of my trip, we encountered poor weather and he expeditiously arranged a helicopter to fly me back to Kathmandu saving me hours of time that would have been wasted otherwise.

I traveled solo only because other trekkers had not booked my scheduled departure date. To their credit, Himalayan Glacier did not try to force me into another group and allowed me to travel solo which I absolutely loved. They allowed me to tailor my trip to fit my preferences. As it was, there were other Himalayan Glacier trekkers on the trail and we often met up at tea houses and at various points along the way. We in our small groups were looked upon with envy by some of the massive hordes we saw along the trail. Being in a large trekking group is definitely NOT the way you want to trek to Everest Base Camp!!! I was really glad that I chose to be with an operator like Himalayan Glacier that keeps its trekking groups small to ensure an intimate experience for trekkers.

Being an avid photographer I felt free to stop as many times and for as long as I wished to take photographs. Once my guide Saroj realized my passion for photography he often suggested better photo locations. I am sure that he is one of the top guides at HGT so you will be lucky if you are able to experience a trek with him.

I have no doubt that your journey to the Himalayas with HGT will be the trip of a lifetime. My trip to Everest Base Camp with HGT exceeded my expectations in every way, and I was so inspired by the experience that I plan to travel to the Himalayas again when time permits, and I cannot imagine booking my return trip with anyone other than HGT.

I can be contacted should you have any other specific questions

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Spain2 Nov, 2017
Francisco Flores

Wonderful journey

Lower Dolpo Trek

My wife and I plan to trek in the district of Dolpo for being an area still little traveled by tourism and have a rich cultural variety. It is a route classified as hard, because it is a remote area with little infrastructure but a spectacular beauty. Although we have not completed the circuit, the experience has been extraordinary. We have been able to share a few days with an exceptional team (Mr. Ambar, Jamngbu and the people of Dolpo) and meet people and places of dreams in the valleys of Do Tarap. We thank all the members of Himalayan Glacier, for attention received at all times and we hope to have the opportunity to repeat.
Paco

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Canada1 Nov, 2017
K Gallagher

Island Peak climb and Everest Base Camp

Cho Oyu Expedition

I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of Himalayan Glacier. It is always a bit nerve wracking to book a trip half-way around the world, and I was thrilled with the welcome, accommodation, and guiding expertise provided by Himalayan Glacier. I successfully reached my goal of the Island Peak Summit, in part due to thoughtful and necessary re-arranging of your trip due to weather and sickness, and am grateful that these elements were considered so that I could be successful.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Switzerland1 Nov, 2017
Suzie

Ghorepani- Poon Hill Trek

Nepal Tour

My friend and I were connected with Jay and his porter to trek 4 days around the Ghorepani-Poon Hill loop. The initial communication between Jay was great but we did not have our own written documentation of how the days or how the money would be spent. We were picked up at the airport in Kathmandu and were brought to a great hotel where we stayed one night. 
After flying to Pokhara, which Jay also arranged, we drove a relatively short distance to the start of the hike. Our trekking time was at a decent pace and we had plenty of opportuntities to stop and take photos, enjoy the local foods and rest. The sunrise hike to the top of Poon Hill was exactly what we had hoped for and we enjoyed the cool clean air. 
The accomadations that Jay found were ok and we were plenty warm enough in our room. If we had known more about the options for the last two days we would have like to have combined them - we stopped very early one day (13:30) and then only had 45 mins the next morning. When you stop at the teahouses there is not a whole lot to do so bring your books and games! The last teahouse we went to had decent rooms but the food was not great. The teas tasted like smoke from a fire and another drink tasted like cigarettes. 
The demeanor of our guide changed after the last trekking day for some reason and some things were lost in translation which seemed to make for awkward silences. The meeting and changing times for exmple were changed without us knowing even though they were previously agreed upon. 
While we were back in Pokhara the two ourdoor options Jay suggested, David Falls and Gupteshwor Cave, were not worth the money nor the time after we had just spent an amazing week outside in the mountains. The cave floods so it was smelly and trash can be seen very up along the walls including floating in the water. The falls had a large metal fence around it and so the view angles were not the best - also trash was everywhere. We wish he had told us otherwise as our cash on hand was running low for taxi's/exersions. Jay also did not offer to pay for his share of exersions. 
Overall we had a great time but somehow the topic of money came up many times and it was uncomfortable. Be prepared that you will need a great deal of cash as many stores did not have credit card machines, more US dollars would have been handy.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States28 Oct, 2017
M Head

Everest Base Camp Luxury Lodge Trek

Everest Base Camp Luxury Lodge Trek

Himalaya Glacier is the company I chose to go with for the Everest Base camp trek (Oct 17). My experience - professional, well organized, flexible and client centric from beginning till end.  The office and support staff was always ready to answer any questions, solve problems and work issues, pre-trek, after arrival, though to departure.  This support made for a “as stress free as possible” trip allowing myself and the others in our group to simply enjoy the trekking.  Our guide, Giri, was outstanding.  He went out of his way to ensure our safety and well-being throughout.  I have no hesitation recommending Himalaya Glacier as your chose for the Everest Base Camp trek.  

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Australia27 Oct, 2017
graeme cook

sensational three passes trek

Everest High Passes Trek

this was the second time for me (62yr old)the first for my son Brendan(27) for the three passes and base camp. himalayan/glacier organisation was impeccable,our guide , Gurdu, amazing. Tea houseses welcoming and warm. Gurdu assessed our group very well stting a good pace, lots of explanations of the mountains and escorted on lots of extra walks. He also new when to let me wander about the mountains when the others have had enough! Our social time in the evenings fantastiic, lots of talking, cards, when you wanted reading.

Our second trip, rafting and paragliding, drive to Pokhara all organised by H/G. Again super, well organised Rafting sensational , guide brillant. paragliding oarsome you got to try it. Our drivers, skilled on these roads!
These guys at H/M know there stuff and do it very well. Thanks again for super well organised trip and of cousre the mountains of Nepal, sensational. Yes we are coming back with my son very keen to tackle some peaks with Gurdu.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Australia27 Oct, 2017
Vivian Chan

EBC Luxury Lodge Trek review

Everest Base Camp Luxury Lodge Trek

Thank you Naba and Narayan- great itinerary and organisers. From pre trip advice and planning to organising the medi vac chopper for one of the members of the group, it was all very professional and effortless. The lodges  were well chosen , we never had to use an outdoor toilet even in the more standard lodges, the guides and porters were very well trained and worked hard. Giri, our guide is a great asset to your company- he was professional, warm, experienced in all matters (even medical ones!), patient and went all out to address all of our concerns. I do not hesitate to recommend Himalayan Glacier to organise your next trekking adventure!

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Australia26 Oct, 2017
HH Teh

Trek Review

Everest Base Camp Luxury Lodge Trek

Great trek but hard. Guide and porters were all fantastic. One of us had altitude sickness and our guide had the experience and the contacts to arrange the most appropriate way down the mountain despite bad weather. Good to have a written guide/advice on how difficult the hike is and the dangers of altitude sickness as I noticed that a lot of trekkers are unprepared for this eventuality. Also good to have options to reach Lukla from Kathmandu and vice versa as weather conditions are unpredictable at Lukla causing unnecessary delays. We had to fork out extra money for a helicopter ride otherwise we won’t know how long we’ll be stuck at Kathmandu.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States16 Oct, 2017
Dr. Emily Bashah

EBC via Gokyo Lakes and Cho La Pass

Everest Base Camp Trek via Gokyo Lakes and Cho La Pass

I completed this 14day trek with Himalayan Glacier Trekking Ltd as a solo female trekker. I was blown away by the attentiveness, courtesy, hospitality and graciousness of the team I was in contact with - Toni in the US; Naba in Kathmandu; Keasb Sharma at Yatri Suites hotel in Kathmandu; and of course the professional trekking team, led by Sudarshon Devkota (lead guide); Nabeen (assistant guide); Kam and Bir Bir (porters). I felt completely safe and very well looked after by this team. We were a total of four solo trekkers and being among this group made my experience an incredible one. This hike was physically challenging and intense but I can assure you that the trek itinerary, routes and guide physically conditioned us for the higher altitude treks. Sudarshon ensured our safety, health, well-being, needs and fulfillment were well attended to. Sudarshon and the team were exceptional and Sudarshon's leadership skills were impressive. I am extremely grateful for the experience I had and the cherished memories with my trekking group. The culture, Nepalese people and mountain kingdoms have been enriching and inspirational! Thank you all!

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Canada15 Oct, 2017
Kelly Wu

Unforgettable, priceless experience.

Island Peak Expedition

Late (but better than never!) review for the April 10-25, 2017 Island Peak expedition. Superb experience in every way, from experiential, logistic, value standpoint. I would highly recommend Himalayan Glacier for any high altitude trekking, novice mountaineering trip in Nepal that they offer. Would pick them if I was to do it again - and for future climbs. 
Pre-trip communication is impeccable, thorough, and timely. Very transparent regarding what costs include and do not include, and how much we should expect to spend each day. Prices for climbing expeditions were all very, very reasonable. Company leadership and staff all very responsible: they carry extra basic meds for altitude, gastroenteritis, etc... I had a terrible cough / worst-URI-of-my-life throughout most of the trip and the staff took good care of me.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Do not miss any deals !!! Subscribe Now