• NEPAL - Everest Base Camp Luxury Lodge Trek on 20th Oct, 2017 Join a Group
  • NEPAL - Gokyo Lakes and Gokyo Ri Trek on 30th Oct, 2017 Join a Group
  • NEPAL - Mera Peak Climbing on 22 Oct and 12th Nov, 2017 Join a Group
25 Years
Since 1992
Call Our Nepal Office at:(977) 9851055684
Call Our USA Office at:704-200-7512
Filter by:
Easy way to filter traveler experience
283 travelers have reviewed
South Africa16 Apr, 2008
Sheila Lyle

Everest Base Camp and Gyoko Lakes

Everest Base Camp Trek via Gokyo Lakes and Cho La Pass

Thank you again for an incredible trip - highly professional - will recommend you to as many people as possible.

Have been in touch with Rob Clark - gather he is seeing a specialist today but is feeling much better.

Everyone else has fully recovered.

Again - huge thanks for the professionalism of all your staff - well done.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Netherlands8 Apr, 2008
Guillaume Slingerland

Great Experience

Everest Base Camp Trek

My trip to Nepal was such a great experience. Thanks to the perfect organisation of HGT! All the people involved in the organisation, staff, guides, porters etc. are very professional. Above all, they have one thing on their mind: THE CLIENT

A good preparation of a trek is very important. It starts at home, with choosing a trekking-agency. From the first e-mail on, HGT felt as a very well organised organisation. They promised to call back within 24 hours. And they did! The communication with HGT is perfect, they do as they say and they always did as they promised.

Guillaume 

Naba, the sales and operation manager, took very well care of all the questions I had. I got the awnsers always within a few days. He “listened” very carefully to my wishes, the match between me and my guide was absolutely perfect. I met my guide, Yam, already in Kathmandu. We had the chance to get to know each other better, before flying to Lukla. He advised me very well with buying some equipment for my trek.

During the trek Yam took very well care of me. He is a very well experienced porter com guide. The lodges were all perfect, except the one in Lobuche. But is was very crowded at that time. The food was delicious. Yam told me a lot about the life at the Everest area. I never took a road twice. He showed of course all the touristic places, but also took me to places where not so many tourists come. Yam, the sunrise at 6 o’clock at the monastery of Thame I will never forget!!!

 

Although I did not reach my final destination, Everest Base Camp/ Kala Pattar, (and I wanted to get there for almost 18 years) the trek was a major life experience. The flora and fauna of the Sagarmatha National Park is so beautiful! Due to my very experienced guide, I met a lot of local people. He showed and told me a lot of the cultural and spiritual heritage. Trekking is not only about altitude!

Back in Kathmandu, I stayed in the very nice Hotel Encounter. It’s the best hotel I ever had, everybody is so polite! In four days I saw a lot of the beautiful city of Kathmandu. I also visited the CEN orphanage which was a great experience. I’m impressed by the social involvement of HGT as well as their environmental involvement!

If you ever plan to go to Nepal do not hesitate to contact Himalayan Glacier Trekking. You can also just walk in the office whenever you’re in Kathmandu. They can make your trek to a success and make your dream come true!!! Sagar, Naba and Yam, thank you for everything you did for me!

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

South Africa8 Apr, 2008
Brian Flanagan

Trek was indeed wonderful experience

Everest Base Camp Trek

"If you are thinking of trekking in Nepal, think no further, contact Naba at Himalayan Glacier Trekking, a very professional company that will attend to all your needs and ensure your trekking experience is one of your most memorable memories. Thank you Naba for your attention in Kathmandu , thank you Chief Sherpa Hom Nath, your Sherpa guides Viras, Nirkumar & Madab and the porters who supported our trek." Brian & Kevin Flanagan, Cape Town South Africa, April 2008

"Himalayan Glacier Trekking Company certainly live up to their brand...spirit of Himalayan...a professional company through and through, from the first minute we made contact to our final minute before we boarded our plane back to Cape Town South Africa, they never let up. Every detail, both in Kathmandu attended to by Naba and his fellow office colleagues and then by our Chief Sherpa Hom Nath and his assistant sherpa's and porters whilst on trek to Base Camp Everest and Kala Pattar. It was not surprising our group achieved a 100% success rate to Base Camp. Thank you Himalayan Glacier Trekking." Brian & Kevin Flanagan, Cape Town South Africa, April 2008

Naba I trust our comments properly reflect our experience we enjoyed under your management.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

South Africa8 Apr, 2008
Kevin Flanagan

Service exceeded all expectations

Everest Base Camp Trek

Upon arrival we were welcomed by our guide Hom Nath, after which we were introduced to all the friendly staff. Everyone was willing to go beyond the call of duty to help us settle in. The welcome dinner proved to be one of the many highlights of trip. Naba made sure everyone was kept up to date with all the proceeding during our stay in Kathmandu, after personally escorting us to the airport he wished us well on our journey towards Everest.

Hom Nath and his team of sherpa’s and porters made sure everyday ran as smoothly as possible. The guides were an endless source of information, as we trekked through the Kumbu Valley, attending to all of our needs. Hom Nath made sure everyone was acclimatizing well, keeping a watchful eye on everyone’s progress. The fact that the entire group reached basecamp Everest can be attributed to Hom Nath role as the team leader, and the support he received from the other sherpa’s.

He paced the group perfectly, encourages the stragglers, and managed all nine individuals within the group with ease. Everyone was made to feel warm and welcomed within the group, never neglecting an individual for a moment. His friendly smile and positive attitude help lift weary sprits, even on toughest of days.

Himalaya Glacier trekking is performing a level of service most companies only dream to reach. They are excellent ambassadors for the company and their country. I would recommend using their service to any one considering visiting Nepal, you will not be disappointed. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future, thank you for making our trek a special one.

Many thanks

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Staffs

Value For Money

United States15 Mar, 2008
John

Great hike with Himalayan Glacier

Island Peak Expedition

Namaste !!!
 

You will have a great hike with himalayan Glacier. Our guide was named Dindi Sherpa and was very attenitive and alway's put safety first. He also got the most effort out of us and helped in our success... He was a mountaineering guide so I think you would have to add one of the hiking peakes to your list  (Island Peak) most likely for his services. We had a guide(Dindi) that spoke great english and two porters for the 3 of us hiking. The program basically was every morning we gave the porters our belongings to carry and we each carried a day pack that was probobly around 5-8 pounds for day use. You would carry water,toilet paper, maybe some candy bars and some lighter or heavier clothing rain gear depending...
 

I would advise bringing some anti biodics in case of a deep in the lungs type colds, Diomax .. You need 500 MG a day but have them prescribed in 250 MG pill size and do two a day instead of a single dosage. Also Immodium, You will get the shits !!  
 

Make sure you take clothing that can be layed because the morning start out cold and get hot by mid morning. A lot of the heat is that you will be in higher elevations and your heart just has to run that much harder even at rest..  
 

Tom, my trekking partner from here in Grand Rapids michigan both can not say enough about how great himalayan glacier was.  
 

Oh, If you are going to stay at the "Hotel Encounter" go for a room on the top floor. when you first get there it will be a chore going up and down but when you get back from the hike it will be a quick sprint.    

 
Feel free to write me or Tom on any questions you may have on your hike........

If you are dealing with Sagar Pandey, He is a great guy.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Iran, Islamic Republic of11 Mar, 2008
Amir Hajjar Zarrin

Autumn I will again be coming to Nepal

Island Peak Expedition

I started climbing 23 years ago and since then I have climbed many peaks. In Iran I have climbed Damarand (5671m), Alam Konh (4850m), Sabalan (4811m) among others. I  have also scaled Lenin Peak (7134m) in Kyrgyzstan.  I also do Rock Climbing and there are around 60 peaks in Iran above 4000m where we can do climbing.

I have already been to Nepal more than six times. The first time I came to Nepal was back in 2003 when I did 48 days of trekking to Everest Base Camp (EBC) and Annapurna Base Camp(ABC). Since 2004 I have been arranging my treks through Himalayan Glacier Trekking, one of the highly organized and professional trekking operators in Nepal.

I cannot forget the assistance provided by Himalayan Glacier Trekking in 2004. When my group was in Island Peak, one of my members was sick in Chokhung so I contacted HGT for Helicopter rescue. They promptly sent a helicopter in Dingboche. But sadly my friend could not make it in spite of our rescue efforts. Naba is a very professional and helpful person. I fully trust Himalayan Glacier and all its staffs. Manager Sagar Pandey is very cooperative and the service tariff is reasonable.

The same year I tried to scale Island Peak but was only able to reach up to the High Camp. In the meantime I also did Annapurna Sanctuary trek. The following year I brought a group of 10 Iranian tourists and we went Round Annapurna and ABC and did rafting over a period of 24 days.

This time I have come to Nepal with 9 tourists and we have successfully climbed the Island Peak (5,500m). The team also included 3 lady trekkers. The team did a trek to Gokyo Ri and climbed up to Kalapathar (5,545 m) and 5 of the members left for
Island Peak from Chokkong.

I have climbed Mera Peak too. Compared to Mera Peak, Island was a bit more technical and difficult. Mera largely involves climbing not requiring much technical coordination. It was little easy for us to climb Island Peak because the Sherpas fix the rope and they are there always to assist us. All Sherpas are highly competent and very easy to work with. For me this time acclimatization was quite o.k. though I come from a very low elevation country. I chose Island Peak because it is good for beginner climbers. Moreover it is easy and not that expensive. It is also of shorter duration since you can launch and come back from summit in two days.

Food and accommodation was up to the standard. Sometimes we had full board and sometimes we had to do with camping. Lodge accommodation in Everest is excellent and so is food and water. Our sherpa guides and porters took care of everything so we didn’t have to worry about hygiene and comfort.

Nepal is a small country but has most of the highest peaks in the world including 8 of the world’s highest. Pakistan don’t have porters but here in Nepal porters available.

I come to Nepal on and off for business and traveling. I have my own company in Iran called Aftab Trek and I also deal in trekking and climbing equipment. Currently I am the brand manager for 7 Gohar which provides technical equipment of high quality such as ice axe, crampons, tents, trekking shoes etc. If we have time we go sightseeing around Kathmandu Valley, Pokhara, Gorkha and Chitwan. We also go for rafting and never miss to go International Mountain Museum.

Autumn I will again be coming to Nepal in when I have plans to climb Ama Dablam. Ama Dablam is the “Arous” or the bride of the Himalayas. It is one of the most beautiful mountains.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States8 Mar, 2008
Keith Benz

Island peak climbing was great

Island Peak Expedition

Namaste to all of you in Nepal.  I wish to thank you for the wonderful services provided to me during my stay in Nepal and Island Peak climbing.  I am finally home again in the United States and getting back to my normal life.  I'm sorry it's been some time since I've gotten a chance to email, but it's been very busy here.  

I hope all went well with your elections and everybody is happy.  I see that Nepal is now a republic.  I am writing this email to thank you and review the Island Peak expedition.  I must say I was nothing more than pleased with the guide services provided to me by Himalayan Glacier ,  my trekking leader Bimal Thapa and climbing leader  Man Bahadur.  Bimal was always considered my needs and was in great shape as well. 

He was very flexible in scheduling our days, because some days we were a very fast team, and were easily able to travel further than the suggested ittinerary.  He was also very resourcefull when it came to knowing the names of the mountains in the area and other advice I needed.  I feel that he did a great job selecting lodges along the trek that were comfortable and hospitable. 

 

I felt that Bimal was more of a friend to me than a guide which made traveling alone very nice.  All the logistics of the trip went well as far as food, lodging, dates, and other arrangements went.  I am pleased with the fact that you were able to make such a custom itinerary such as the sightseeing tour I got to go on in Kathmandu instead of two days of rock climbing.  The porter that was arranged did a fine job as well. 

Man was very a very safe and patient climbing guide.  He was good at setting a pace that the entire group was comfortable with.  There were no technical difficulties on our climb, however he did a great job assisting some of the lesser experienced climbers achieve the summit.  The food at base camp was my favorite part of the whole trip.  The staff that put together our meals there did a fantastic job and I'd really like to thank them for their services!  I really have no complaints worth writing that happened during my Island PEAK Climbing with Himalaya Glacier Trekking. 

In short I can say you really took care of me.  Look forward to meeting you guys again soon. Hope all is well and take care.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States8 Mar, 2008
Greg Whealing

Memories of our Everest Base camp trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

The memories of our Everest Base camp trek in April are still very real. Each time there is a news item about Nepal the experience of the trek come flooding back. It was an unique experience for myself and Justin. This was naturally due to the magnificant mountains and people of Nepal but in a large part due to the efforts of your company Himalayan Glacier Trekking.The level of service of yourself and staff was first rate and beyond my expectations. I booked with Himalayan Glacier Trekking because of the reputation of the company which I learned from the many reviews from past trekkers on your web site. My experience can be added to this long list. Nothing was left to chance on the trek and the hospitality shown before the trek and after returning to Kathmandu was most impressive. I will be returning to Nepal and will use your company without hesitation. Nepal is such a sspecial country and I am indebted to Himalayan Glacier Trekking for making the experience special.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Australia6 Jan, 2008
Chris Hutton

Everest Base Camp Trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

"First of all, we had a great trip. It's a beautiful country you have, and trekking is a fantastic way to see it. From the start- We found your company through your website which was very helpful .the pick up at the airport was great, I think it's important to have the airport pick up because people may have found it hard to find the Hotel Shanker using local cab drivers. The Shanker was fantastic, excellent, polite, helpful staff, good breakfast and comfortable rooms.

The first night’s traditional Nepalese dinner was excellent, definitely keep this place as a regular part of your treks. Good introduction to the food, the dancing and singing etc.

the day's sightseeing was ok- we liked the sights themselves, but our guide Syeam gave a bit too much information, and as a result we didn't really learn as much as we could've about each of the places. I think that if he talked less, and gave important points on each place we would've taken a lot more in. Overall this was very good too though.

Enjoyed Rum Doodles- you have a good list of restaurants to take your clients to, this was one thing we noted.

overall comments about the trek- excellent. I actually think that you should market the December/ January period as a great time to do the trek. While it gets cold at night, the days are warm, and the clear skies give great photos. The guest houses are empty meaning that you get dinner served quickly, and you sleep well because there's no noise. Perhaps your website should also reflect the fact that if your timeline is tighter, you can tailor a trek to suit your available time. Your recommendations on what we needed to bring were spot on. The pace of the walking was fine, not too fast, not too slow. The guest houses were very impressive, excellent food, nice people and good facilities. Our trek went fine, with no hiccups at all until the last few days. We enjoyed the level of flexibility we were allowed, meaning that you can walk shorter or longer each day depending on how you feel, and where you'd like to spend more time.
At the end we ran into problems at Lukla with the flights cancelled. Obviously this is no-one's fault and can't really be avoided. The planning Homnath did to get us back to Kathmandu on time was excellent, and while we were very lucky in the end- the work he did saved us a lot of money and worry.Perhaps we could've considered the option to fly to Jiri then drive to Kathmandu a little earlier, because we were lucky to fly to Jiri- but no complaints.

The porter was fantastic- very polite, friendly and always smiling. I'm not sure how much these porters are paid, but I hope they are looked after, because it's one aspect of the trip that is important to the tourists, and we really appreciate the work these guys do.

Homnath was excellent- spoke great English and did his upmost to ensure we were happy, and enjoying ourselves. On the way down, he did get a long way ahead of us at times, leaving us to find our own way along the path, but when we spoke to him about it he stayed with us, which was good. We did notice that he always addresses the male, and doesn't really ask the female for her opinions. Perhaps this is a cultural thing, which is fine- but often the female likes being included in discussions.

In summary, there was no part of our trek that we were disappointed with. We would have no hesitation to recommend Homnath and your company to any of our family and friends. If we were to come back to Nepal to do more trekking, we would certainly do it through your group.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

United States23 Dec, 2007
Carol Gunter

My dream trip to Everest Base Camp Trek

Everest Base Camp Trek

Namaste! Greetings to anyone who is considering a trip to Nepal,
I have just returned from trekking to Everest Base Camp with Himalayan Glacier Trekking Ltd. HGT is a friendly, well organized locally owned company. The trekking trip to Everest Base Camp was something that I have dreamed about for many years. I can say that the trip was everything I had dreamed about and so much MORE!

The Guides and Porters hired by HGT are the best! Friendly, helpful, informative and they took care of every detail along the way. After the trip, I teased our Guide Parkash Devkota that he had become more than a guide. Along the way, Parkash became “Dr. Parkash” when people got sick, “Fitness Coach” when we needed encouragement on the acclimation hikes, “Tour guide” for the many stories that he told, and he became my “Personal Shopper” when it came time to shop for friends at home. The entire staff was always willing to stop what they were doing to answer a question, or help us figure things out. (Like finding a post office, or bank or even helping us order a meal.)

Many trekkers chose to “go it alone” and find there own places to stay. Now that I am an experienced trekker to Nepal, I would still rather travel with Himalayan Glacier Trekking than go on my own. This company knows the route, the villages and the Tea Houses along the way which meant that we ate and slept in comfort and did not have to worry about finding a place to stay. Other benefits of traveling with HGT include the fact that all of their guides and porters are locals. The trip becomes not only a scenic hiking adventure, but a true cultural experience. You will learn so much about the country and people of Nepal as you trek through the Himalayas.

The HGT group sizes are smaller, which gives trekkers the flexibility to design portions of the trip to suit individual desires. For example: when I was the only one in my group that wanted to hike to the top of Kalapattar to watch the sunrise, the guide figured out a way to take me up there, and still be able to meet the other team members for breakfast. Watching the sunrise over Everest with our guide, Prakash and one of the porters Jussa, created memories that I will have for the rest of my life. All I can say is it was beautiful and AMAZING all at once. It is my pleasure to recommend Himalayan Glacier Trekking to anyone planning a trip to Nepal and I am happy and willing to correspond with any future clients that you may have.

Thank you so much for making my dream trip to Everest Base Camp a reality. I look forward to returning to Nepal for another trip with your company.

Pre-Trip Information

Accomodation

Meals

Transportation

Staffs

Value For Money

Do not miss any deals !!! Subscribe Now